Город на краю (2021 –)


Астрахань — один из старейших городов России, и при этом один из самых малоизвестных для общества. Одни люди развивают здесь бизнес или работают на нефтегазовые корпорации, большинство живет на маленькую зарплату в исторических, но видавших виды домиках, мечтают уехать в Москву или за рубеж. Космополитичный дух города за полтысячи лет не изменился — здесь живет больше ста народов, что образует сложный культурный код на границе Европы и Азии.

Согласно данным Росстата, по итогам первых пяти месяцев 2022 года Астраханская область лидирует в южной части европейской России по оттоку населения. Некогда бывшие градообразующими судостроительные и судоремонтные предприятия давно закрылись, портовая инфраструктура уменьшилась в объемах.

Архитектура отражает происходящее в городе. Подобного количества исторических купеческих зданий в России не сохранилось, вероятно, больше нигде. Но состояние этой красоты — плачевное. Восстановительные работы ведутся лишь фрагментарно, и основная часть населения живет в уникальном по дизайну, но требующем ремонта жилом фонде.

Люди занимаются в основном строительством и торговлей — остальное денег не приносит. Многие работают и в бюджетных организациях, но с маленькими окладами. Правда,  в городе есть филиалы нефтегазовых гигантов «Газпрома» и «Лукойла» — но «разве туда попадешь», говорят местные.

Поскольку город стоит в дельте большой реки Волги, многие по привычке подрабатывают рыбалкой. Но это не самая прибыльная история. Если в 70-е, бывало, излишками черной икры кормили кур, то после браконьерского разгула 90-х и нулевых осетра в дельте осталось мало.

Есть в Астрахани и малый бизнес, в том числе довольно успешные проекты, но в целом ему здесь тяжело. Как и из других регионов, люди перебираются в Москву, Петербург, Сочи.

Астраханский парадокс: этнических конфликтов здесь нет. Но складывается ощущение, что в СССР было больше интернационального. Сейчас же мир как будто разъединяется. Общество если и не сепарируется по национальному и конфессиональному признаку, то  смотрит в эту сторону гораздо увереннее, чем 30-50 лет назад.

В свете конфликта России с западным миром политологи и экономисты обещают новую жизнь евразийским связям. До Каспийского моря по воде всего 60 км. Еще в 2014 году прочие прикаспийские государства усилили объемы морской перевозки в обход антироссийских санкций. Теперь же в схему хочет включиться и Россия — ведутся переговоры с Азербайджаном и Ираном.  Однако порт Астрахани имеет малую пропускную способность. Чтобы пустить сюда большой поток товаров, нужно время. Но складывается ощущение, что в федеральном центре про регион забыли.

City On The Edge. Dmitry Ermakov. Documentary photographer

City On The Edge (2021 –)

Astrakhan is one of the oldest cities in Russia, and one of the least known at the same time. While some locals run their own businesses or work for oil and gas corporations, the majority live on small wages in historic but run-down houses, dreaming of moving to Moscow or abroad. The cosmopolitan spirit of the city hasn’t changed in half a thousand years: more than a hundred ethnic groups live here, forming a complex cultural code on the border of Europe and Asia.

According to the Federal State Statistics Service, the Astrakhan region is leading in population outflow in southern Russia by the first five months of 2022. The once city-forming shipbuilding and ship repair enterprises have been closed long ago, and the port infrastructure has decreased in volume.

The architecture reflects the ongoing processes in the city. There are thousands of historical merchantry buildings, one probably could not find as many in any other region of Russia. But the state of this beauty is deplorable. Restoration work is fragmented, and the majority of the population lives in the housing stock with both unique design and a dire need of repair. The transport issue isn’t very good either: the municipal one was abolished, with only fixed-route taxis remaining.

People are mainly engaged in construction and small trade — the rest doesn’t generate profit. Many people work in state organizations, receiving small salaries. There are branches of such oil and gas giants as Gazprom and Lukoil in the city — but “if only I could get in there”, the locals say.

Since Astrakhan is located in the delta of the large Volga river, many people habitually try to earn extra money by fishing, although that is not very profitable. In the 1970s, chickens were sometimes fed with excess black caviar, but after the poaching spree of the 1990s and 2000s, there were very few sturgeon left in the delta.

There are also some small businesses, including several successful projects, but it’s quite hard for them to function in Astrakhan. Just as it happens in other regions of Russia, people move to megalopolises like Moscow, St. Petersburg, or Sochi.

Another Astrakhan paradox: there are no ethnic conflicts here. But it seems that the USSR’s society was more international. Now the world seems to be disassociating. Society might not be separating along the national and confessional lines yet, but inclines in this direction much more confidently than it did 30-50 years ago.

In the light of Russia’s conflict with the Western world, political scientists and economists promise new life for Eurasian ties. The Caspian Sea is only 60 km away from Astrakhan by water. Back in 2014, other Caspian states increased the volume of sea transportation, bypassing the new sanctions. Now Russia also wants to join the scheme — negotiations with Azerbaijan and Iran are underway. However, the port of Astrakhan has a low capacity. It will take some time to direct a large flow of goods there. But one gets the feeling that the federal center has forgotten about the region.